Winterbourne Academy

Safeguarding

Winterbourne Academy recognises its responsibility to safeguard and promote the welfare of children.

We work together with other agencies to ensure effective arrangements are in place to identify, assess and support children who are suffering from harm.

Safeguarding our school community is of paramount importance. We ensure that all our staff are aware of, and have the skills to deal with, any child protection or safeguarding concerns. We have robust recruitment procedures and professional development programmes which ensure that all our staff uphold our strong ethos and values. All of our staff receive yearly updates as part of their child protection training.

If you have any concerns regarding the welfare or safeguarding of students please don’t hesitate to get in touch with our Safeguarding Team below. 

Our 'Safe to Speak’ Campaign: Developing a culture where it is ‘safe to speak’ out & making everyone feel safe to report bullying and abuse at Winterbourne Academy

Key School Contacts

Designated Safeguarding Lead

Assistant Headteacher

Mr Kieran Mogford

Kieran.Mogford@olympustrust.co.uk 

 

 

Deputy Designated Safeguarding Lead

Mr Dan Blishen

Dan.Blishen@olympustrust.co.uk  

 

Assistant Designated Safeguarding Lead

Mrs Stacey Gwynn

Stacey.Gwynn@olympustrust.co.uk 

 

                        

Assistant Designated Safeguarding Lead

Miss Brooke Hamblin

Brooke.Hamblin@olympustrust.co.uk 

 

                               

 Our Pastoral Team can also support you, their contacts details are as follows:

Heads of Year:

Year 7 - Miss Wood    Naomi.Wood@olympustrust.co.uk

Year 8 - Ms Jones       Sarah.Jones@olympustrust.co.uk 

Year 9 - Mr Blackwell  Samuel.Blackwell@olympustrust.co.uk 

Year 10 - Mr Donlin      Ben.Donlin@olympustrust.co.uk 

Year 11 - Mrs Watkins     Sarah.Watkins@olympustrust.co.uk 

Post 16 - Mr Cosgrove    Peter.Cosgrove@olympustrust.co.uk

 

Student Support Assistants:

Year 7 - Miss Webb   Bethan.Webb@olympustrust.co.uk

Year 8 - Mrs Moon   Mandy.Moon@olympustrust.co.uk 

Year 9 -  Mr Clark   Ben.Clark@olympustrust.co.uk

Year 10 - Miss Lewis   Sophie.Lewis@olympustrust.co.uk 

Year 11 - Mr Cox    Sam.Cox@olympustrust.co.uk 

They can also be reached using the main school number 01454 252000.

The Designated Trustee with responsibility for Child Protection is Dawn Kingscott- you can make contact via the Clerk to Governors at Rosie.Gosling@winterbourneacademy.org.uk.

South Gloucestershire Safeguarding Board

We follow the advice issued from the South Gloucestershire Safeguarding Board and their site has a range of useful information for parents and carers as well as numbers to contact if you have concerns about the safety and wellbeing of a child.

South Gloucestershire Emergency Contacts

Please use the numbers below if you have concerns about a child and would like to speak to someone from the Access and Response Team directly:

01454 866000 / Monday to Friday 9am- 5pm

01454 615165 / Out of hours and at weekends

 www.sites.southglos.gov.uk

Winterbourne Academy Safeguarding and Child Protection Policy

Safeguarding & Child Protection Policy - September 2021

Appendix A: The Right Help in the Right Way at the Right Time - January 2021

Appendix B: OAT safeguarding staff handbook 2021

Appendix C: Self-harm Guidance

Appendix D: Intimate Care Guidance OAT

Appendix E: Safeguarding-Flowchart Olympus

Appendix F: Olympus Visitor Procedures September 2021

Appendix G: SVSH Flow Chart for Schools 2021 v1.0

 

Additional Information 

Useful Links